Does Pennsylvania Allow Phones While Driving?

That state of Pennsylvania does not prohibit the use of handheld cell phones, meaning that talking on your cell phone is not against the law. However, if you are driving in Philadelphia, the use of handheld cell phones while driving is banned. The fine for the first offense is $150, while the second offense is a $300 fine.

All Pennsylvania drivers are prohibited from texting while driving, which means that you are not allowed to send, read, or write a text-based message while operating a motor vehicle. A text-based message is defined as a text message, email, instant message through social media, or other written communication composed or received on an interactive wireless communication device (IWCD).

The fine for violating the state’s texting laws is $50. Pennsylvania’s texting law is considered a “primary” law, meaning that a police officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness some other violation.

If you suffered an injury in a car accident caused by a distracted driver who was texting or using their cell phone while driving, you may recover financial compensation. Contact our Philadelphia personal injury attorney at Golomb Legaltoday.